Pataleswar Temple,Budhikomna
Pataleswar Temple

The District of Nuapada was a part of Kalahandi District till early March 1993, but for the administrative convenience, Kalahandi District was divided into two parts i.e. Kalahandi and Nuapada vide State Government Notification No. DRC-44/93/14218/R. dated 27th March 1993. Nuapada District now comprises one sub-division (Nuapada), two tahasils (Nuapada and Khariar) and five Community Development Blocks (Khariar, Sinapalli, Boden, Nuapada and Komna).It is believed that the District of Kalahandi formed in ancient time a part of Mahakantara territory. During 4th century A.D.

when Samudra Gupta led his campaign through this region a king named Vyaghraraja was ruling over Mahakantara. After Vyaghraraja, the Nala kings like Bhavadatta Varman, Arthapati and Skanda Varman ruled over this region up to about 500 A.D.

In the 6th century A.D. a new kingdom developed in the Kalahandi tract under King Tustikara, but very little is known about other kings of his family.The Nuapada area was by that time under the kings of Sarabhapuriya dynasty whose copper plate record and gold coins are available. This region came under the occupation of the Somavamsis of South Kosala during the 8th century A.D. when Mahaivagupta Balarjuna was ruling from his headquarters at Sripur.

Brick Temple Nuapada
Brick Temple

In the 9th century A.D. when the Somavamsis were ousted from the Sripur region and organized a new kingdom in Sonepur-Sambalpur tract, the Kalahandi portion continued to be under their rule. In fact, Mahabhabagupta Janamejaya occupied the Trikalinga territory (Koraput area) through Kalahandi. In the middle of the 10th century A.D. the Somavamsi dominion embraced the whole of Orissa under Yayati II Mahasivagupta. His son Udyotakesari divided this dominion and placed the western part (Kosala) under the rule of a collateral branch. Kalahandi was included in the Kosala kingdom the capital of which was Jajatinagar near Sonepur.

The rule of the Somavamsis in Kosala collapsed by the invasion of Rajendra Chola in 1022 A.D. and after that the territory came under the rule of the Telugu Cholas. In 1038 A.D. Vajrahasta V of Ganga dynasty became powerful in Parlakhemundi region and after the death of Rajendra Chola in 1044 A.D. he assumed independence and occupied the hilly territory including Koraput and Kalahandi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *